Webinar - The new wave in bio-based materials: maximum value from lignin with industry-specific fractions.

26th February 2019
3am PST / 5am EST /11am UK / 12noon CET / 13.00 EET

And available to watch on-demand afterwards. 

The era of affordable sugars, renewable biochemical and bio-based materials from lignocellulosic feedstock are here. Enabling a paradigm shift from petroleum and change over to renewable biomass, the new fractionation technologies of lignin allow the entire biomass to be utilized. Lignocellulosic biomass – a variety of non-edible, woody materials – is the largest renewable reservoir of fermentable carbohydrates, aromatic compounds, and other chemical building blocks. With the new wave of biotechnology, controlled size, solubility, and activity of lignin can be achieved.

As the exact lignin structure depends on biomass used, lignin fractionation process significantly affects the properties of lignin produced. Most of the lignin produced today is treated as a side stream and mostly used as black liquor for energy purposes. Without treatment, lignin is not usable for value-added products. Controlled fragmentation, polymerization, depolymerization, and activation allows the use of lignin in products such as paints, adhesives, artificial fibers, fertilizers, pesticides and naturally, plastics. Industries such as bio-refining, bio-plastics, and wood processing can directly benefit from solutions allowing for controlled size, solubility, activity, glass transition temperature and morphology of lignin material.

Do join us at a webinar on the new wave in bio-based materials!

Key issue to be discussed: 

  • Industry, academia and innovative SMEs – developing a common understanding of the road map to industry relevant fractions of lignin.
  • The future is here: how technical solutions are ready and lignin-based solutions have market pull.
  • Looking at the ground breaking technologies that are  serving the market with affordable industry specific lignin fractions – without which the bio-refinery concepts will never work
  • All of this is possible with a significantly reduced environmental footprint - find out how.

Presenters: 

Matti Heikklia, CTO, MetGen

Katja Salmenkivi, Development Manager, Metsä Fibre Oy, Finland

Dr. Nicole Labbé, Professor of Biomass Chemistry, Center for Renewable Carbon, The University of Tennessee.

To register for the webinar, please visit the website

(Article sourced from: www.biobasedworldnews.com/bio-based-webinar-unlocking-the-potential-of-lignin)